Where can I get free intra-day option charts?

Discussion in 'Options' started by emk662, Apr 16, 2001.

1. emk662

emk662

I am busying looking for intra-day option charts, but do not know where I can get for free. Do you guys have any ideas, or what do you use? Delayed price is also fine.

2. Just curious, why would you want charts for options (intraday no less), since option prices move based on several factors other than just the underlying stock's price, and therefore don't generate the same kind of support/resistance indicators that the underlying charts do?

3. emk662

emk662

I am a beginner in options, and I think the stock price may be most related to the option prices. But I am not sure how strong is the relationship.

Thank you for tell me there is other factors. Can you explain a little bit to me?

4. Sure, with options you have 3 main factors in the pricing of an option: the value of the underlying stock, volatility, and time value. So for instance, a fairly volatile stock like JNPR has a high volatility value priced into most of its options. In addition, the further out the expiration of the option is, the more expensive it will be due to its time value.

As an example, let's say JNPR is at 45. The May 40 puts are selling for $4.00 per contract. Since JNPR isn't below 40, the puts have no intrinsic value, so if they were priced just based on the stock's price, they should be worthless. However, the reason they're still going to $4.00 is because JNPR is volatile and could make a decent move and quickly be in the money, and also because there's more than a month until the option expires. So even if JNPR started going up, the value of the May 40 put wouldn't necessarily go down proportionally, since its value is based on volatility and time. Likewise, even if JNPR stayed at 45 and didn't move for the next month, the puts would continue to decrease in value as the time value erodes.