Where can I get everything needed to play with algorithms in Matlab?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by 2weels, Apr 16, 2017.

1. 2weels

2weels

Hello. I wish to try developing some trading algorithms in Matlab (because I am familiar with it and like it).

I presume I need a source to download data. I don't plan to make real trades at this point. I would need to access download for complete NYSE, NASDAQ, currencies, commodities, and everything else. I am a beginner when it comes to trading and investing.

Are there other things I need (I know if I start actually trading I will need a broker, etc.) for just developing algorithms and testing them on data from the past up to the present?

Thank you very much!

2. just21

just21

Gambit likes this.
  3. 2weels

2weels

Thanks much. I'm guessing the first one is not free. I'll check the other one.

4. Lee-

Lee-

You effectively said you want all market data. I think you substantially underestimate how much data that is and how many different assets are out there. You also didn't provide a time frame just a generic "past up to the present".

Can you start with what sort of resolution you're looking for and what time frame you're looking for? What I mean is, do you want daily/hourly/minute/second/tick? Do you want OHLC data, all trades, NBBO quotes, quotes from specific exchanges, all quotes across all exchanges? You mentioned NYSE and NASDAQ, do you only care about US these exchanges or do you care about other US exchanges? Do you care about non-US markets? Do you want for the last month, last year, last decade? What's your budget (ie what do you THINK all this data is going to cost)? This is partially for my amusement, but it's also to make you realize that most data isn't free and if you put a number on it we can offer you some suggestions that are at least reasonable given your budget.