When YOUR job is shipped abroad...

Discussion in 'Economics' started by loza, Sep 3, 2007.

1. loza

loza Guest

...you'll say, "hmmmmm.... me and my 98 buddies earned $100,000 a year and now we're out of the job market. My boss got a $1,000,000 increase for this. As a result, the average American income went up! That's GOOD for America! Hooray!"

2. keyser1

keyser1

As a software developer, my type of job has been shipped abroad, and I'm sure my salary has already been somewhat impact cuz of it.

But you know what, I don't care. Why does Joe Shmoe in the US deserve the job more than Joe Shmoe in China, India, or Brazil??? If a guy in India could do my job better/faster/cheaper than that guy deserves the job, and I should be doing something else.

Do you enjoy the fact that you can buy cheap clothes/electronics/toys/etc??? Its free market economy that makes it all possible.
    Are you willing to pay more for all the goods you consume?

Because thats exactly what trade barriers/ stopping-outsourcing will do.

Think about the farming industry...We only need half the farmers that we currently have; yet we subsidize them to produce less than capacity because we're afraid they'd all go out business.
    So whats better for the country:
    A. 100 farmers producing to half capacity
    B. 50 farmers producing at full capacity and 50 people doing other types of jobs.

Obviously the answer is B since it leads to greater economic output.
    The only problem is it takes short term pain (the displaced ppl need to learn new skills) to get there.

The type of short term pain that ppl whine about and congressmen try to prevent from happenning, which leads to policy that is great in the short run (a few years), but harms the country thereafter

3. This has been occurring for the past 7-8 years.