When to switch to IB

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by ark93, Feb 13, 2019.

1. ark93

ark93

Since I started trading stocks last year my account with TDAmeritrade has grown steadily from about 1000 to 5000, both from gains from the stock market and a frugal lifestyle. I don't mind the thinkorswim platform, however one thing that has always been cramping my style is the $7 flat commission per trade. When I consider that 10 round trips equates to $140 which is roughly what I cover in 1~2 months I think why not just use IB? Of course until recently they didn't let you make an account there with less than $10k. Now that's changed apparently. There's no account minimum anymore.

There's a $10/mo minimum commission, but for clients up to 25 it's only $3 and luckily I don't turn 26 until much later this year! Seems like an opportune time for me.

A lot of people seem to hail IB as their platform of choice, but until just recently it was out of reach for me until I managed to reach $10k. Now, however, it's there, arms wide open to people with small accounts such as myself. Is there any reason I shouldn't switch asap? Are there any downsides/reasons to stick with TDAmeritrade? Any catches?

2. ZBZB

ZBZB

IB are ignoring their own $10k account opening minimum. Open an account if you have more than $2k.

3. clacy

clacy

If IB will let you open an account with $5k I would definitely switch for active stock trading.

4. JSOP

JSOP