When should I increase my "size"?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by fan27, Aug 27, 2003.

1. fan27

fan27

I am trying to determine what I should use for a metric in determining when to increase my share size when trading SPY.

I have been daytrading full time since 3/15/2003. Last month was my first profitable month trading 100 shrs of SPY (+$62.00). So far this month I am at about Breakeven (+$2.00). I have been fairly consistent as of late and my drawdowns are small relative to my share size.

My original plan was to increase to 1000 shares once I make $50 a week for 2 weeks in a row. However, after reading many posts regarding performance, averaging $50 a week on 100 shrs of SPY might be to lofty a goal for a newbie such as myself. I was also considering trading 500 shrs of SPY if I end this month in the black. My logic is that I could be making a little bit of money while still learning. (ie.. 1000 shrs last month would have been more than $620.00 because of cheaper commission. That covers almost half of my living expenses.) I have about 9 more months of savings left so it is not imperative that I immediately start covering my costs with trading.

Thanks in advance,
    fan27

2. Nice work fan"! I am going to presume you have a method that you consistently follow. Because in my opinion, what separates a newbie from an oldbie is discipline. Simply, I believe that an oldbie gets to be an oldbie because he has more discipline. This of course presumes a winning method also.

I always suggest that when you are learning, do not focus at all on the dollars made, but rather the points captured. This is why I suggest 100 shares. Trading 100 shares will not make a difference in anything except for your experience, win or lose. The money made or lost from 100 shares is not important.