When should I buy a house?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by Port1385, Sep 7, 2008.

1. I have studied the charts and prices of houses in my area. Houses are now selling at a discount to 2006 prices, but still I feel there is a ways to go downward. The discount off of 2006 prices is about 15-20%. This is not a huge discount compared to the doubling and tripling that had occurred over the years.

Unemployment is on the rise and layoffs continue to mount.

I have been renting since 2006 and would like to get back into a house. I ask the ET community of experts. When should I buy a house?

Somehow I have this feeling that prices will eventually get back to 2000 pricing and it will take a while. If you forced me to answer when I feel housing will be a buy, I say minimum it will take another 3-5 years to see a bottom. Homeowners are too stubborn and wont sell easily.

2. I answered your question here... But basically look for a 10% rental yield. That is a safe fundamental value... Or another version of the answer: When the cost of money is cheaper than the income renting it (on 100% of the value).

http://scriabinop23.blogspot.com/2008/08/san-diego-foreclosures-out-of-control.html

Basically some foreclosures are great deals right now, but the rest of the market is in fantasy land.

3. ET community of experts. LOL

Anyway, I say it depends. If all you really want is to try to pick "the" bottom, the old wall street adage applies... if you think it's the bottom you're probably wrong. If you know it's the bottom, you're too late.

And don't forget, even if you were correct in buying the bottom, by itself that does not mean lift-off.

If you need a place a live, buying right now might be right. Another adage applies... just because you qualify for a million dollar mortgage doesn't mean you have to buy a million dollar property.