when do you know your ready?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by watchdaride, Mar 25, 2004.

1. To the fulltime traders ( that make a profit)

What was the turning point that gave you the confidence to go full time. I have been trading forex for aprox 18 months and have some trading rules I stick with and have been profitable 4 months in a row . Making a small profit consistenly and waiting for the right trade was hard trying the control . Controlling greed and patience was the hardest hurdle for me and sticking to a plan. Anyway is there any advice from fulltime traders you could give to someone thinking of going fulltime?

2. gms

gms

You may also want to ask those that aren't profitable, the answers may be interesting and isn't suspect of survivorship bias.

3. reg

reg

Always control your losses - sounds simple but not following this rule has cost me a lot of $$$.

4. DHOHHI

DHOHHI

I'd suggest you continue with what you're doing. Small profits and keeping emotions in check as far as fear/greed. 4 months of profits is a good start; if you set another goal I'd say shoot for a slightly higher profit target in what hopefully will be your 5th consecutive profitable month (maybe trade slightly larger size and shoot for the same per trade profit objective as you now have). If you achieve that up the target slightly in month 6 etc. etc. When you find reaching a given target beyond reach then plateau the target for a few months until you've successfully achieved that level. Singles and doubles consistently are the way to go ... those that shoot for the home runs often strike out too often and end up washing out of the game.

5. rwk

rwk