When do you enter support/resistance plays in stocks?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TraderGreg, Aug 6, 2008.

1. I am a novice swing trader just trying to make the cut at even right now. My question is: what is your trigger for support and resistance plays?

For example, say you are trading a channel between 22 and 24. Would you enter a long when the stock dipped down to maybe 22.10, or would you enter a buy only when the stock dipped to 20.10 and then retraced back up to 20.25?

Also, would the occurring time of any of these numbers matter to you? For example, I've been trying to ignore these numbers during 9:30 - 10:30 and 12:00 - 1:30 (Eastern times), since the market is volatile and random in the morning and practically non-traded and weak during lunch.

Thanks for your help!

Best Regards,

Greg

2. lots of factors to consider, but assuming you had reason to believe the stock would go back up, I'd probably buy it at 22.05, with a 15 cent stop if volume was declining on the down move. I would not wait for it to move back up before buying as this would give me a shitty fill.

I would have my stop a bit below the support as traders/ market makers often push it through obvious levels just a bit to profit off stops. IF they can get it there in the first place that is.

Anyway, in this case your R/R would be a 1.95 profit goal (although I'd personally dump before 24 even), with only 15 cents risked. Its a pure numbers game for me. I assume every trade is random even if it really isn't, that way I don't have to be right on each trade. Just right often enough. 40% correct would make me a bundle on the risk ratios I aim for.

3. I do have stops, but I didn't mention them.