When do you call it quits in a day?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by fatrat, Oct 10, 2005.

1. fatrat

fatrat

I'm a new trader (4 months under my belt.) I have fantastic days, where my trade lists are crisp. No loser > 4 cents, a solid set of hits. 1-2 cent losers, nice 10-20 winners. I'll feel like a king. Win:loss size ratios of 7:2 on good days with a 45-55% win rate. I'll let it go for 4-5 days in a row. It feels good, and I'll feel like I'm making progress.

Then I'll have days where I'm a complete idiot and my losing days are worse than my winning days. On a macroscopic level, losing days should probably be smaller than my winning days. It makes sense from the perspective of keeping losses small.

However, what happens during trading is that if I take a 10 cent loser, I go on tilt. Then the next few trades might send me deeper into the hole. I notice that the time between trades decreases and I go nuts.

I doubt I'm the only guy who started out with this problem. It's a psychological problem. I just don't know when to call it a "losing day." It's hard to accept a losing day, but not a losing trade.

My question to other traders: When do you acknowledge that the day is a loss? If I'm down a little by 10AM, for example, should I stick it out? How do you cope with it?

I'm thinking about trying a few things:

- Walk around the building once after a larger than normal loser before I come back and sit down.
    - Stop trading as soon as I'm at a certain level in the hole
    - Or, just stop trading after one large loser because I'm so prone to stupidity

Recommendations to correct this awful behavior would be helpful.

I feel like this is the last major hurdle I need to overcome before I become consistently profitable.

2. Cheese

Cheese

You are playing mindless roulette. Expect no progress.
    :)

3. oy vey...

again?

4. fatrat

fatrat