Whats wrong with Japan's banking system?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by Daal, Sep 30, 2006.

1. Daal

Daal

I always hear that china and japan banking system needs to be reformed if they want to grow , whats the problem there?

2. I am not an expert on this topic but until recently a significant focus was to perform a community service rather than make a profit for its shareholders. Any Japanese could get a loan to start a business regardless of their experience, the soundness of their business plan etc. Many banks had so many defaults they went under. The banking system is very ineficient and productivity is at a low level.
    Imagine The Bank of America in the 1950's well its about 10 times worse.
    Many banks also lent money to homebuyers during the Japanese property bubble. Then the market went south....disaster.
    Probably the biggest problem with Japanese Banks still is that they are run by Japanese.
    Corporations expected Banks to be a constant supply of cheap money, no matter how stupid the initiative the Japanese banks would come to the party. Much credit was used expanding ridiculous business plans, when they couldn't deliver the Japanese banks were left with the 'non performing loans'.
    A good case study is Nissan before Carlos Ghosn.
    I personally do invest in Japan through the EWJ iShares but picking winners in that market is frought with dangers.

3. During bear markets, all of the fraud, waste, corruption and garbage get exposed. It can take years to clean it up before the next big bull market can take place.