What's the reason for this?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by billp, Jan 20, 2008.

1. billp

billp

First, sorry as I'm not technical savvy. Need some help.

My desktop is 1 year old and already having problems. The computer is taking a long time to start up (example; when I on the computer, the windows XP Professional takes a long time to set up). Also, even normal applications and surfing the web takes longer. I know that the slowness is not due solely to the internet connection.

FYI, computer is custom built. Processor is Core 2 Dual 1.86GHz with 2 GB RAM. HDD should be 320 GB. Using Avast antivirus.

What is wrong with it? How can I check and correct it? Thanks.

2. When was the last time you did any maintenance to the machine i.e. defrag, empty caches, etc.?

Do a test, turn off the anti-virus and see if that makes a difference.

Sure you didn't pick up a virus?

Just,
    My2¢¢

3. 11Blade

11Blade

Sounds like your registry may be overburdened and you may have picked up some rogue malware or a virus. Also be careful of running two antivirus programs/firewalls etc.

Additionally as mentioned before, defrrag your drive, clear your internet cache and cookies.

I use the free editions of AVG antivirus and AVG anti-rootkit to do a checkup. I do not run these full time, I have ZoneAlarm firewall and antivirus running full time.(disabled when using AVG)

If you have a bot or malware installed, it might be running its mischief sapping your machine while you use it.

4. billp

billp

My computer has 2 drives (C & D). C drive, I have done check disk and defragmenting recently and regularly. No problems. However, D drive is another story.

D drive:
    --defragmenting is ok. no problems

--check disk. --have never run it as everytime I've tried I ran into problems.