What's the cheapest R/T for Micro ES and NQ

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Jack W, May 30, 2019.

1. Jack W

Jack W

Hi guys and ladies,

I've become addicted to the Micro ES and NQ. It happened fast. I'm doing 50 to 150 R/T's per day. I'm a former floor trader, and was on the CBOT and CBOE for almost 30 years. My style back then was to always have a core positional trade on while constantly scalping the paper that came into the pits I was in. I spent a great many years in the OEX pit on the CBOE, which was a scalpers paradise on many, if not most days. One could move 1000 puts or calls with no more than 3 contra names on a ticket. Man, the markets were deep in that pit.

I recently came out of retirement because the action in the markets was too hard to ignore. That said, while I love trading mini's, the algo spikes and sweeps are tough to swallow for an old guy. When the Micros arrived, it was like a dream come true for me. I can make a ton of trades (small size) and never risk too much. Of course, the $ rewards are much smaller as well. That said, these Micros are working for me. At my age, taking on big risk makes no sense. I also choose scalping versus positional trading so that I can have plenty of free time for outside activities.

My question is, what's the lowest round turn rate you've seen for the Micro ES & NQ?
    I thought I was paying 84 cents a round turn, according to my statements, but my broker informed me today that this was a mistake, and my actual rate will be 1.14 per R/T.

I get it, they have to make a living too, no problem there. However, with the number of trades I make on busy days, over the course of time it adds up, fast. Unlike the floor, where my clearing firm always capped fees after I reached a certain volume threshold, the e-brokers don't. I see AMP offering 74-78 cents per R/T, can anyone beat that?