what's the benefit of prop vs retail?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by acerbits, Jun 1, 2007.

1. I've been a retail trader for over a decade now. Just wondering if there are any benefits of going to a prop firm, is it just more leverage?

2. Aok

Aok

Leverage, rates, platform, commish, connections, experience.

3. The only reason I would join a prop is to enjoy the energy of the other traders in the room.................and maybe get to know a few million dollar traders as friends :p .

4. Retail in most cases means trading from home, anyone serious taking trading as business, won't do his business from home, for various reasons.

Being among other traders in a trading room , or having own trading office with few others brings in more discipline and staying focus

5. ssss

ssss

Nana Trader

06-01-07 09:27 AM

Retail in most cases means trading from home, anyone serious taking trading as business, won't do his business from home, for various reasons.

Martin Schwartz trade from home .

6. We saw an "exodus" of sorts to the remote (home) trading arena from around 2001-2005 or so...and now we seem to be having a resurgence of groups wanting the association with other traders in an office environment (via affiliate offices, etc.).

A cool blend is found in our BTM groups (Bright Trading Mentoring)...where we have small online groups (with some in offices) that focus on certain types of trading. A very similar online comaraderie had developed for maybe 10 groups of 6-8 traders with a seasoned mentor to assist everyone, minute by minute.

We do our best to accomadate each trader's wishes.

Don

7. DHOHHI

DHOHHI

In this day and age there are many small businesses, corporate employees and entepreneurs who operate from home.