What's next???

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by FixedIncomeGuy, Feb 11, 2008.

1. Hey everyone, I am looking for some advice, opinions, suggestions, on how I can take my trading career to a new level.I'll give you some back ground on myself. I've been trading at a prop firm here in London for the last 2 years. I've been trading us treasuries and have been doing well, but I am looking to be in a situation that will allow me to trade larger size as well as have a longer time frame to trade. Right now I put on trades from anywheres to 30 to 50 contracts and depending if I am hedged or not I am able to hold overnight but never can it be a pure speculative trade. I graduated from the London School of Economics with a degree in banking and finance with a 2:1 degree. I know my education is nothing too special but would it be good enough to land a trading role actively trading at a IB or hedge fund? I should add that I am looking to make a move to the states, hopefully the NY, CT area. Thanks, any comments would be appreciated.

2. .

3. why not just trade at home?..it seems you know what you're doing.

4. I thought about that, but I am very social person and I like trading in a office with other people, don't think I would last too long trading by myself. And I don't have the capital to start trading on my own. My goal is to be in position to trade larger size and even though I would be able to employ any strategy I wanted (overnights etc.) I would be forced to trade only a few lots max, and to me that seems counterproductive for what I am trying to accomplish. Thank you for your comments tho.

5. I've never traded in an office (would like to try), but do you find it as a good experience over-all?.. Do you find that other peoples emotions influence your trades?