Whats best for serous ATS: lightspeed vs rithmic vs DAS

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by rohan2008, Apr 16, 2013.

1. rohan2008

rohan2008

Hi Everyone,

I am looking at designing a medium frequency automated trading system. After reading these forums, I have a few unanswered questions and so any advice is highly appreciated.

System Specs:
    • 50-100 trades/day (stocks initially)
    • Custom designed from scratch
    • Modified Linux kernel (cluster maybe) + Xeon cores + C/C++
    • Will eventually get collocated
    • Broker agnostic
    • Dev timeline: 8-12 months
    • Acc starting budget: 80-100K
    • Lowest latency possible (retail only)

I am stuck with choosing the correct brokerage firm. I am VERY particular about using Linux as my OS and I have taken off IB from my list (of course latency of TWS as well along with order cancel fee). The other factor here is that I am not a pro trader, but a pro s/w architect type and I know there is a tremendous learning curve involved in the art of trading. MB trading is out since they don’t support Linux & C++.... again I am not sure about their FIX gateway product...

I did consider Lime brokerage, but I feel that its too early to contact them since I don’t even have the system in place. I have currently zeroed on three brokers who offer good API solutions:
    - Vision financial (Rithmic) [ 250us execution with colo]
    - Lightspeed [ 2-3ms execution with colo]
    - Speed trader (DAS API) [unknown… but fast I believe]

Vision Financial Markets seems to be the only brokerage firm that offers Rithmic for stocks. I did contact them and they are not willing to give out any information unless I come through an introducing broker (of course, they are assisting me in getting in touch with one). So, as such, I don’t know the commission structure.