What would you do with $1 million?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by MickMason, Jan 29, 2007.

1. I don't mean how would you spend it.....how would you trade it? Who would you put the account with? Would you trade spot, futures, or ?

I'm just about to be overfunded, help!

I've been trading a small account for someone over the past few months and they've been happy with the returns. They've now decided it's time to increase their investment by a staggering $1 million. In the scheme of things that's probably small potatoes but to someone like me who has been trading 100k it's a very big transition.

Where would be best to place the account? What kind of deal should I be looking for? Will I have problems getting filled? I'm an intraday trader, even a scalper at times, will I have to rethink my strategy?

This is a whole different ball game for me, although I'm looking forward to having those kind of funds available it's with some trepidation!

Help and advice very welcome!

Mick

2. gkishot

gkishot

Keep doing what you were doing prior to that. I don't believe you clients want you to change dramatically your trading style.

3. Where to put the million, that's the question. I would be inclined to trade with an outfit that provides the bucket shops with their liquidity.

If you stay with a bucket shop, they may not be able to tolerate your scalping 100 lots (the max leverage you'll get) and only staying in the market for a few minutes.

Best not to find yourself up 40% only to have the broker 'persuade' you not to withdraw your profits. I will have to withdraw $100K from an FXCM account in the near future. I will let you know how I get on.

I need someone to convince me that retail spot trading is scaleable given the reputation of the retail market makers.

I am sure this thread will attract a spectrum of views!

I am at the gloomy end.

Regards
    Morty

4. you arent gonna like this..