What would you choose to develop: IB's api or Ninjatrader8 ?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by pstrusi, Sep 6, 2017.

1. pstrusi

pstrusi

I have a decent experience working with NT7 connected to IB, pretty fine. Now platforms continue to evolve and I'd like to know technical experience of people in the deep know which platform to develop an Algo from scratch.

Thanks

2. truetype

truetype

What are your algo's latency requirements?

3. IB API all the way. I don't want to be dependent on someone else's software over which I have no control.
    I've heard enough bitching along the lines: "hey xxx doesn't work any more ever since I took that update"

Yes, it's more work but I've built up my own abstraction layer on top of IB's API that I understand and control.
    Also I'm a crack programmer :D

pstrusi, Xela and lovethetrade like this.
  4. Xela

Xela

I hate this advice.

I hear it, and I know it's absolutely the right advice, and totally correct, for the reason stated and probably for other reasons, too.

(I just hate it because I'm not a crack programmer. To put it mildly. :p )

pstrusi and donnap like this.
  5. pstrusi

pstrusi

Normal, around 100 ms. My strategy is not HFT or similar.

6. pstrusi

pstrusi

I appreciate your opinion, it's pretty logical what you say. However I'm not a professional programmer, so given my time table needs, more hard technical work means to me being behind schedule, that's why I consider nice platforms like NT. Just for curiosity: do you code professionally ?

7. I don't want to come across as bashing NT. It seems like a good product and in your case it may very well be the way to go.

I'm a professional programmer and have been for 30+ years. That's why my first thought is always to "do it yourself".