What was the worse thing you learned the hard way?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Sam Farmagham, Dec 14, 2016.

1. Personally I learned the hard way not to put all my eggs in one basket! It's been 5 years now and I am still not confident enough to jump back into the game.
    Would love to hear about yours.

2. This Horse Is A Bit Long In The Tooth, I Wouldn't Buy it, I Would Sell It. My Biggest Mistake Is Trading On What I Think. Trade What You See, Get Two Setups And Wait On That To Happen. But I'm A Trader, So If Your An Investor, Don't Be Quick To Run With The Crowd, (BULLS) there is No Mo Money Left To Be Made. IMHO

3. birzos

birzos

That no matter how much information you give people that helps them help themselves, they are too ignorant to do anything with it because everyone is gaming everyone.

And knowledge is power.

4. I jumped into the market during the crazy exciting financial housing crisis days -- I made some profit, but eventually pulled out after I lost approx 40% of my account relatively quickly.

Like you, I also took a really long time on the sidelines reflecting/studying/paper trading in my head.
    I just couldn't seem to have it in me to go back into the game.

Here's a good movie line quote from Even Money 2006:
    "Like I said we're all chasin somethin. More money. More love. What we're really looking for is more life. But sometimes you go looking for more, and you wind up with less. It's a beautiful world. We ought to be satisfied. But the truth is... we all want more. Some take a chance for the rush of winning. Some for love. But you can't have your dream without laying something on the line. The key is not to risk what you can't afford to lose. You might think you're different. But someday... you're gonna want more too. The question is... What are you willing to lay on the line?"
    o_O:confused: