what type for strategy is best to use to profit on volatility?

Discussion in 'Options' started by jgold310, May 27, 2008.

1. jgold310

jgold310

Hello everyone,

what's the best strategy to use in order to profit on high volatility and limited risk?

2. thelost

thelost

i am no options expert but i believe buying simple calls and puts is a way to profit from increasing volatility.

this is because the price of a call or put generally increases/decreases as volatility increases/decreases.

there's probably more advanced strategies that will hedge out time decay too.

3. jgold310

jgold310

Thanks for the reply. But the volatility is already very very high, 52wk high.

I just want to profit on the volatility and not necessarily in the move of the stock.

I was looking for a short straddle but that has too much risk and I doubt the stock will stay in a range.

4. thelost

thelost

i believe a "double calendar spread" profits from increasing volatility and is a bet that the price stays the same.

it's pretty complicated though. has 4 legs and i'm not familiar with it.

you could probably find info on google.

if you think volatility is too high and will decrease you would want to sell calls/puts but this of course has unlimited risk.

the websites i have been visiting recently seem to believe volatility will rise further but who knows.

5. If the volatility level is already at a 52wk high you are looking for volatility to likely drop. This means that options tend to be overpriced. So you want to look at selling options. This way as volatility comes back down and the option prices drop you can buy to cover at a lower price. If the volatility moves enough you might can handle the stock moving against you slightly.