What to trade in Europe?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Laissez Faire, May 31, 2012.

1. Hello everyone,

I am a fairly experienced trader of the ES contract and although I have a deep love for this market, working on US hours is starting to wear me down, so I`m looking to possibly switch to an European market.

Do indexes typically trade the same way? My experience is solely with the ES and I`m amazed at how technical this market is and how predictable it is at times. Anything similar in Europe?

I`ve been doing a fair amount of back testing in crude oil and learning how this market moves, but I don`t find it have the same respect for levels and turning points like I find in ES.

So, what is everyone trading in Europe?

I think I will be looking into the Eurostoxx index and German debt.

The DAX seems to be fairly thin at times and I`ve heard the moves can be quite violent at times.

Obviously, I need to do my own research, but if anyone got any pointers, I`m happy to hear it.

Thanks in advance. :)

Laissez Faire

2. Handle123

Handle123

Really comes down to your style of trade, if you are a true scalper, nothing better than Euro Schatz, if more into trend trading Euro Bund then the Bobl for financial and DJ Stoxx for indexes, try not to trade the Dax at all cause of regular slippage.

3. DAX is a beast, PA in not nearly as clean as in the ES plus you lose the 24-hr market ... DAX closes's nightly for 8-hrs... becomes gap happy which equates to much greater risk exposure for overnight holds

FESX is a bit more docile, but same session issues...

CL is also a beast. Again, not nearly as clean to what you are accustomed to in the way of PA, very geopolitical sensitive, but can be traded, just need to adapt.

2nd best instrument to ES imho would be eur.usd "forex" it is cleaner, but still not as nice as ES and lacks volume signals.... exhaustion, etc....