What software is best to Automate my stock and option trades?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by andyf, Dec 13, 2017.

1. andyf

andyf

I want to Automate my stock and option trades that I do manually every day now (so I don't have to sit in front of my PC all day while the market is open. I am a hardware Engineer so I have written software and script programs in several languages before to test and exercise hardware so I can write scripts and simple software programs. I do big trades (quarter million dollars per trade).

I don't want to write software from scratch but would like to use some Automated Trading software package out there that has a lot of capability already to take any trading strategy I come up with and Automate it in the software and do the trades for me (and I will just monitor it). I want the software to be flexible enough that it can do my strategy not just pre-programmed strategies it already has. However if it already has many pre-programmed strategies that I can combine together to get to my strategy then that is helpful. For example if A is true and B is true and C is true then do this....

The software would need to get the real time stock and option quotes to do real time trades on the fly based on my strategy. When the stock hits certain price points the program will buy shares or sell shares and/or it may buy options (calls or puts) or sell options (calls or puts) on the stock.

The software would need to keep track of how many stock shares or option contracts are in my Account or at a minimum keep track of how many shares or contracts it has traded that day so it will put in the right amount to Automatically get rid of later that day.