What software for system creation/backtesting? (beginner trader)

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by kschin, Mar 17, 2006.

1. kschin

kschin

Hello! After reading through many threads and trying a bunch of searches, I determined I'm just going to have to start a new thread to address my specific needs.

What software would you recommend for someone who wants to begin to develop a trading system(s) and backtest it, for the specific purpose of learning and formulating a personal strategy for trading?

Here's some points that might influence your answer:
    -I'm relatively new at trading
    -I'm expecting to trade stocks (for now, anyway)
    -I'm a software developer, so I can program
    -I'm not daytrading. I want my system to basically analyze what has happened in the market at the end of the day and then give me signals to execute (manually) the following morning.
    -I want the software to fairly flexible in terms of development; allowing me to change things and see their results quickly. (I'm using it as a learning tool. I don't have a specific strategy in my head that I just need to convert to code and be done with. It'll be an iterative process of coding different things and seeing how they work)
    -I don't need ANY real time or future data feeds, as long as I have sufficent historical data to work with.
    -It would be nice if I could eventually use the same software to actually trade with in the future, rather than have to change to new platform.
    -Money management/position sizing features highly desired. Once I figure out a strategy of when to buy and sell, I'd like to set different parameters for account size, risk, etc. to see how that impacts the results.
    -Absolute max price of something like $100/mth or $1k full license, though to actually accept this max cost, it would basically have to be my dream software!