What software do I need to get started?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Mkadyz, Jun 20, 2006.

1. Mkadyz

Mkadyz

Ive been reading all morning and I can't figure out what I really need versus what I can do without for a while.

If I go with a broker like IB or a similiar firm, will they supply me with a trading platform? Or do I need third party software like Ninja Trader or Tradestation?

Do I still then need backtesting and charting software?

If you haven't figured it out yet I am totally new at this so any clarity you can give me on these programs different functions would be helpful.

Thanks

2. Murray Ruggiero

Murray Ruggiero Sponsor

If you want to trade systems you will still need backtesting software. What do you want to trade, futures or stocks ?. You should take a look at TradersStudio.

3. Mkadyz

Mkadyz

Sorry, I plan on trading the Dow mini. I don't have any kind of system yet. I just need to know what I need to get started paper trading and get a feel for what im doing.

Im guessing I need an account somewhere so I can get live feeds, but what else?

4. The IB provides you with their platform to place an order and almost free quotes. You can also subscribe to charting software such as Ensign Software to work with IB. I heard there is another charting package called Sierra Charting?? Another way is to go with Tradestation but only if you trade actively (10 trades roundtrip or something per month) otherwise they would charge some ridiculous platform fee monthly.

I have esignal and Ensign Software on one computer (Ensign will work with IB quotes) and Tradestation on another computer.

If you are starting out, here is something that will save you a lot of money. I guarantee it.

1) ALWAYS PUT AS LITTLE MONEY IN YOUR ACCOUNT AS POSSIBLE until you are very consistent. Save your bullets until you figure out what you are doing