what signs were there of this stock's jump?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by vk60546, Nov 10, 2011.

1. vk60546

vk60546

http://www.finviz.com/quote.ashx?t=KITD&ty=c&ta=1&p=d&b=1

KITD jumped from 8.36 Tuesday 11/8 to 9.32 open on Wed 11/9 and went as high as 11.19 for Wed.

Did any of you catch this using Technical Analysis?

I'm a newbie when it comes to trading and have been reading books on Technical Analysis, but have not been able to pinpoint it in the real life.

Looking at the KITD, I think one could have spotted the uptrend during the open on Wed 11/9 due to a large volume increase with the upward price movement.

However, I'm not sure what indicators would one use to gauge the end of the upward run. Say, if you bought at $10, how would you know when to sell for a profit?

2. It was a result of their earnings. No TA could have spotted that and could have just as easily ended up below 5.00.

3. vk60546

vk60546

Thanks for your response.

Let me revise the question a bit. Once the stock's jump registered on Wed, were there any signs of it going past $10? And then downwards?

Basically, I'm trying to decide whether TA is worth studying practically.

4. No.