What should I do now?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by flier6, Feb 13, 2006.

1. flier6

flier6

Hey all,

I need some advice. I've just sold my house in Orange County and am wondering what to do with the cash. I have about $300,000 from the house and $200,000 in my 401k. Right now I have the entire $500,000 in the money market because I'm bearish on the mkt.

I've also been reading a lot of Peter Schiff's writings and am starting to become very bearish on the dollar. I'm an airline pilot for a bankrupt carrier and have been HAMMERED from every direction as far as my net worth.

I feel a bit foolish getting on here and whining about "only" having a 1/2 million. I know I'm very lucky to have even that. But I also know that it isn't enough to retire on. I'm still only 45 so I have time to save more and let this money grow, but I don't feel like the mkt is going anywhere anytime soon.

I thought I'd seek help here because I know there are some DAMN smart people on this board. If you have time, I'd like your thoughts on the following:

1. There is no doubt in my mind that the real estate market is about to absolutely MELT DOWN here in Orange County (probably elsewhere too). In fact, it's already started. But is it logical to be bearish on the stock mkt right now as well? Should I just dump all the $ in the S&P, max out my 401k each year and stop worrying about it?

2. Is it logical to be concerned about the dollar resuming its 4 year plunge? If so, what should I do about it?

3. I like Peter Schiff's strategy at EuroPacific.net (foreign stocks, mostly utilities and materials companies) but they charge 3% to tell you where to put your money. I thought about giving them maybe $50,000 to manage and then managing the rest of my $ myself in accordance with their strategies. 3% seems outrageous to me for a stock brokerage.