What should be next for me?

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by PolymathMind, Oct 26, 2009.

1. It was some time ago, that I became interested in doing stocks, and becoming a full time trader. I knew I needed start up money so I started saving every penny I was making.
    I now have $10,000 to invest, I know it's not much, but I'm very young, and from a poor family (this is all my money that I earned).
    I have been looking at some virtual trade markets, and been studying the basic terms people use.
    What should I do now? I want to study as much as I can before I even look at trading, I want to study for at least 6 months.
    -Should I find a mentor (how do I)?
    -Should I read books first?
    -Should I do penny stocks?
    I am not a fan of school, and planning on dropping out. (I'm currently doing an extra year in high-school).

Also, what should I do with that money while I am studying?

Please, do not let my age fool you, I am no cretin, and no I'm not another young man who thinks he will make a million in his first year, I know trading is an art not a science and it can be years before you see a profit.

Thanks.

2. You should stay in school, get an education and study the markets on the side. College gives you ample time for the markets (I used to get up for the open and watch until my first class at 10am).
    People pay $30k-$100k for a first class education, so that $10k will most likely end up being part of your "tuition" (i.e: that $10k will most likely end up in someone elses hands).
    Don't waste your time reading about every indicator under the sun. Learn all you can about money management and risk control.