What problems do you face as a trader that can be solved with software?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by gaussian, Jan 21, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gaussian

gaussian

I wasn't sure where to put this (it didn't really fit into programming) ...and the title isn't great but I'll explain.

There are a lot of problems in trading us traders experience day-to-day that could either make our strategy development easier, research easier, or platforms easier. A very simple example is how bad the EDGAR API is from the SEC. If you wanted to wholesale analyze hundreds of companies and compare their multiples this would take ages. As a result, a number of companies are offering APIs that wrap the EDGAR API for a small fee that make this task considerably easier. The problem of chart consistency across computers is mostly solved by Tradingview.

I'm a programmer by trade, and I trade for fun. My programming chops aren't really being tested by my strategies which are mostly swing trading/long term trading given my risk preferences. As a result, I don't have any visibility in other forms of trading. I've been programming for years and I'd like to actually build something useful to the community of traders. Maybe learn a few new things along the way.

I figured I'd post here and ask you guys what I can build to help you out. I'd like to collect a bunch of ideas and perhaps pursue a few of them - maybe even creating a service to help people (or, failing that, releasing it completely free). So, what is something you'd be willing to pay a few bucks a month for that would help your trading, but doesn't exist or conversely exists but completely sucks to use?

2. Handle123

Handle123

I use Tradingview when not at home, but I have found glitches with their charting, missing data.

LOL, I wouldn't want anyone to know what I need, then everyone would have it. But I think for "retail", you will be busy.

wrbtrader likes this.
  3. gaussian

gaussian