What Moves the Currency Mkts?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by hcour, Oct 23, 2006.

1. hcour

hcour Guest

I'm currently studying a strategy that analyzes the mkt, any mkt, based on how it reacts to news. This is not the same as trading on the news. Instead one is trying to determine who is doing the buying and selling, the "smart money" or the "public", that is, the quality of the supply and demand, based on price/vol action relative to whether the news is "good" or "bad". This is a cumulative, ongoing process, not determined alone by one day or one economic report. I will not go into further detail here, I wrote a bit about it in the latter part of this thread:

http://elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=1211069&highlight=kerr#post1211069

What I'm asking here is: What exactly constitutes good or bad news in this respect? Do I have the right grasp of it? From what I understand, currency mkts are mainly influenced by 3 important factors:

1) Interest Rates.
    2) Interest Rates.
    3) Interest Rates.

Ok, sorry for the variation on the old real-estate joke, but that really seems to be what it's all about. I've been following the daily commentary on TradingEducation.com for the GBP. Every economic report, I mean every bit of it, is viewed relative to how it will effect whether the BOE will or will not raise interest rates. For instance, inflation is a bad thing for the economy, right? OK. But, it's actually good for the currency because the BOE (or U.S. Fed, or whatever for whatever country) will likely raise interest rates to curb that inflation.

Would ya'll agree w/this? Any thoughts or comments appreciated.

Second question: Since the U.S. dollar moves inversely to pretty much every other currency, and certainly the GBP and EUR, could one say that that which is good news for the U.S. is bad news for the other currencies and should be taken into account? I realize this is a more complex issue, but generally, wouldn't this be true?