What method gives best chance for profit?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Sam Mcgee, Oct 23, 2007.

1. I've played around with automated trading for several years with limited success. I can get my different ideas to work with Excel receiving data and sending trade signals to Interactive Brokers. The problem is that whenever I test something for 100+ trades, the result is always close to breaking even.

Does anyone have any idea what method of trading would give me the best chance for success? Which equity works best with automated trading? I've tried all different methods, moving average crosses, breakouts, buy at the lower band, sell at the upper band etc. etc.

2. empee

empee

Hi, what platform are you using? I recently got into automating and have successfully made several intraday strategies (im primarily a swing trader). Here are some tips:

o if you go to really short time frames, you get more random movements than longer ones. However, short-timeframe work better for pure momentum systems.

o What are your goals? Maybe they are unrealistic. I find that my win rate goes down for intraday since there is substantially more noise/chop. Maybe its worth capitalizing on.

o If you are testing on futures, for example, you might only want to include the times they are actively traded. The overnight sessions when they go sideways can give 'false' signals (depending on your setup )which dramatically can dramatic impact the results. (Ie you need some kinda volatility filter).

o I'm relatively new to intraday development, but so far I've found daily setups to be far more accurate/worthwhile.

You might want to check the art collins threads for some 'edge' ideas. His published work on the threads here so substaintial profit buying open selling close (I think) not including comms + slippage.

3. GaryN

GaryN

Sam