What Market is Most Difficult?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by patbateman, Apr 25, 2006.

1. What market is most difficult to trade?

Buddies of mine claim the equities mkt (S & P Futures, Nazz, russell) is the most difficult because it is most efficient and has low volatility. Commodities trading seems to be the easiest market, but also the one that takes the most balls because of high volatility. Thoughts?

2. sevnseat

sevnseat

I personally feel like its what you're used to. I trade equities for a living primarily but am starting to do a lot more work with options/futures/bonds/fx . Every one has their own little quirks and everybody is out to screw you in a different way :D

3. Your buddies are wrong. Higher-volume markets are easier to trade because the high-volume of trade sets in motion trends that are more persistent. Low volume commoditites, such as pork bellies or platinum, should be avoided because they can be "pushed around" more easily.

4. Well I've experienced options, equities, futures, and spot forex.

Forex was definately the hardest for me. That could be because I like to scalp. Forex doesn't work for me in that way.

Second hardest was Futures. The moves are just so quick, any time to think is almost eliminated and even a second or two could almost eliminate the possibility of a great entry and turn it into a bad one. Again, I like to scalp. I was doing this on the YM though, ES might have been different, who knows.

Third hardest was Options. I actually tried a demo account at think or swim and did very well just buying calls or puts. Although more complex things like greeks and stuff I don't yet understand. Also not good market for scalping. Like I said though, only on demo, so my response should not be taken with complete seriousness with regards to options.