What makes a champion? System vs Psychology vs Money management

Discussion in 'Trading' started by RobinHood, May 20, 2008.

1. I've been trading for 3 years, and keeping extremely detailed logs.

I still haven't understood what it is that makes a champion trader. By champion, I mean the ability to manage $50million plus with superlative return. Really, the best in the industry.

Some say psychology - but this is just confidence in your system, adherence to stops, strict discipline ensuring no impulsive positions are taking.

Some say Money management - but this is just a safety net, if your a looser it will just take you longer to loose.

Some say trading system - Obviously it is nothing without the other three.

I'm of the belief that all 3 are important, but your system is the most important. How is it that some traders are able to return %70p.a+ on average over 5 years with millions , while other profitable traders may only make 30%+ over the same time frame with the same risk. This must be the method/system.

I'm still trying to develop the system that will make me the most money...

What do professional traders think? Perhaps they could enlighten me with some of their thoughts.

(btw I'm planning on heading into the industry. Going to college next year for commerce)

And another thing that has taken me ages to realize is that your trading log is useless if you don't have a trading system by which you can measure up your actions taken in the market. I.e. monitor your adherence to it etc.

I used to try optimize my system after different traders, but realized also that this was silly, as I was overoptimizing for specific issues which could destroy my whole system overall. ATM I don't have the kind of account equity to spend $2000 on some good system testing software, risk management cacls etc so I'm hoping to get into a firm with those kind of resources later on.

2. You need all three ingredients to realize your true potential as a trader: