What kind of discounts are feasible in US real estate right now?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by Ghost of Cutten, Jan 17, 2010.

1. This is for anyone who has some actual real estate experience - in the current state of the market, especially rather bombed out areas like Vegas, Miami, Detroit etc, what kind of discounts to comps would a patient buyer be likely to achieve? E.g. buying from foreclosure with cash offers ready to close quickly. Also, if anyone has an idea of current prices relative to replacement costs, rental yields on mid-tier properties, and other valuation measures, I'd be happy to hear the details.

2. First off, I'm a Realtor in Northern California and have done many REO and short sale transactions both from the buy side and from the listing side.

With both of these transactions, but especially with the REO, the bank has a major concern and that is that once an offer has been accepted it actually closes. When an REO falls out of escrow the bank looks upon it as an expense. Being a cash buyer will give you an advantage because the bank knows you'll be able to close. In many cases this will give your offer an edge, within reason. I get offers all the time from Jackass's. Guess what, they hit the trash can.

The rest of your question gets a bit tricky and there are too many variable to address in a forum like this. I've seen 35 & 40 cents on the dollar with properties that were once over a million dollars but other areas maybe only 80 cents on the dollar.

My advise, and you may not like it, is to get in contact with a Realtor and let them work for you. You'll get much better information than you'd ever get in a forum on ET.

3. hayman

hayman

A new wave of foreclosures will hit the nation between Q1 and Q2 this year, as many ARM's get reset. This will undoubtedly have a negative effect on housing prices nationwide. Keep this mind, as you look to purchase.

4. drobin

drobin