What is your recommended spreadbetting broker? (UK)

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by robindrew, Apr 29, 2018.

1. robindrew

robindrew

Hi fellow traders,

Although I dipped my toes in the pond of spreadbetting over a decade ago now with fairly neutral results overall, I recently returned to leverage my programming skills by integrating with APIs and attempting to formulate an automated trading strategy.

I am based in the UK, and so far I have integrated with IG Index, FXCM, OANDA and looking to add City Index (Gain Capital) to my framework. My reasoning for integrating multiple providers is:

A) I intend to compare execution times, prices etc.. programmatically to see which appears to provide the best service.
    B) Write a generic API across all these providers to simplify and standardize access for Java developers (I am a Java Architect!).

I wanted to get some opinions on which broker you would recommend - and more importantly WHY? For example FXCM allows you to spread bet micro lots, but IG Index has thousands of instruments including crypto currencies and shares. And do you have any brokers you would recommend are best avoided...

Many Thanks,

Robin

2. tomorton

tomorton

From your approach, it sounds like you'll be scalping or at least day-trading.

If so, surely you've also heard that spreadbetting very short-term is almost impossible to win at? But maybe your system has an edge to overcome this?

3. robindrew

robindrew

Well what I've heard is slightly different - many forex traders now favour spread betting platforms over traditional brokers because the spreads are comparable, trading more straight forward and any profits are tax free!