What is the real cost of your broker?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by agtrader777, Jan 17, 2006.

1. In the near term, I am planning to sell some land and opening a trading account of around $100,000. I have been a long-term spread trader for years, but have never had an account of this size and I am beginning to seriously research brokers more thoroughly to determine the actual cost.

It seems like all brokers are trying to beat each other on rates and services, and ET members comment regularly on who has the cheapest commissions. It seems that people are forgetting some of the major issues involved in the actual cost of a broker like quality of fills, reliability and money market interest paid on unused funds. I do not plan to margin myself more than 20%, so it is likely that I could have $80,000 sitting in my account collecting interest. This is a feature that any broker needs to offer clients.

The interest rates that are paid by the broker are another story. I checked the TradeStation website about a month ago and they were paying about 1.1% on balances over $10,000. I checked for the link before I made this post and could not find it. IB was paying a little over 3% on balances between $10,000 and $100,000. The 'opportunity cost' interest differential between these two brokers is quite substantial.

You might think that the money market interest is not a big deal, but if you are a futures trader, the difference between 1.1% and 3% would be between $1,200 and $1,500 a year on the account I am planning to open. This leads to the question – What is the real cost of commissions?

Here is my real question – Is TradeStation actually free? You could look at it like you are paying $1,200 to $1,500 a year for it based on the interest differential, even if you trade 10 round turns a month and they don't charge you for it. You could also view it as an extra fee of $5 to $10 more per trade.