what is the problem of butterfly strategy ?

Discussion in 'Options' started by hermit_trader, Dec 10, 2005.

1. It seems to be quite good and has limited risk. As a newbie I guess there must be some problems with it, as I don't know much people using it.

2. It's a fantastic position. Excellent risk/reward with a preferred gamma position which is limited in magnitude.

You're trading four legs, so the bid/offer paid can be a significant % of the position-debit on the long fly. That's much less of an issue with some of the direct-access systems out there like IB.

You're short gamma in the delta-neutral butterfly. If you're predicting high-volatility there are better strategies to employ.

3. If I am predicting low volatility, is it OK?

4. Yes, absolutely.

5. Is it safer (but also less rewarding) than short strangle/straddle? I heard some guys were wiped out as the market suddenly moved violently. Is butterfly more suitable for newbie? Thanks!

6. Staying with limited risk strategies, like the butterfly, vertical spread, etc., helped me out while learning options. It's easy to get the deer in the headlights look when all your greeks start moving at once. With a limited risk position, where I was "comfortable" (but not happy) with the potential loss, the process was less stressful.

7. MTE

MTE

For what it's worth, I agree, a long butterfly is a great position, I just love trading them. In fact, it offers one of the best risk/reward ratios, especially, if you play OTM flies.

The problem with them is that you can't reach the max potential profit until actual expiry. For example, I currently have a 5-point Dec long call butterfly. On Friday (7 days to expiry) the stock was right at the short strike, yet the butterfly was worth only 3.00. So it still has about 2 points potential, but Gamma is getting pretty high.

Cheers.