what is the minimum necessary volume to trade 10k shares ?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by luisHK, Sep 29, 2010.

1. luisHK

luisHK

Hi

I'm quite new in the securities market yet besides investing for longer term, I couldn't help buying a couple of stocks to get a mild taste of day trading :eek:

So I end up with over 10k shares of 1 stock I would like to sell a few minutes later. Focused on UNG and MGM that trade at around 20M shares a day hoping that would be alright, yet today go stuck with 11500shares of MGM. Had a sell order @11.30 it bounced back on that amount than would have sold on market price @11.29 or 11.28 but there was very low volume at that time and was afraid that the price might even go a little lower by the time I sell all shares. Finally sold just before market close at 11.22 when the volume seems always peaking.

Volume seems fine a few times a day but not always. What kind of minimum average volume should I be looking for to trade 10 to 20k shares at a time ? at anytime of the day ?

Besides how risky is it to place a limit sell order for all shares in the system ? Any chance it triggers automated reaction that could have adverse consequences for my goal ?

Thanks for all input
    Luis

2. Google High Frequency Trading . Hopefully you will find out stuff you should know about volume...

3. I used to scalp ATVI (at the time, avg vol > 14M/day) with 10k or 20k share lots... 95% of the time, I would get fills through my broker within 5 seconds, regardless of time of day or background activity... however, I would occasionally run into periods (of reasonable volume) where it would take over *30 seconds*. Never could get a good explanation why... they would complain that I had huge lots, but my trading logs showed that many times, periods of lower liquidity got much faster fills than 45 seconds.