What is the cheapest system for backtesting?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by sneakoner, Jun 14, 2011.

1. I'm a newbie and wanted to try out a system for backtesting. I was a little hesitant about signing up for TradeStation since its $100/month if you don't meet their 5000 share minimum (I doubt I'm going to come close to that in the beginning).

Any ideas on cheap systems (or free ones) that can be used for backtesting strategies?

EDIT: I don't have much programming experience.

2. it depends on your level of skill. are you a good programmer?

wealthlab has 30 day free trial. there is a steep learning curve if you don't program. their backtesting software requires C# knowledge.

the trial comes with free daily and intraday data, which is really nice.

3. LeeD

LeeD

The cheapest is free. Typical choice would be NinjaTrader (good GUI) and TradeLink (open source but the environment is aimed more at experienced computer programmers).

If you want to go "cheap", I'd recommend AmiBroker - the fastest backtest I have seen. Also the buit in Amibroker Fromula Language (AFL) is very expressive. Most simple trading systems will be 3-4 times shorter than Ninja or TradeLink. Shorter means easier to read and understand and faster to change.

My current choice is NeoTicker but it's in the same price range as TradeStation (except it's not part of a brokerage and thus doesn't require any trading). You can also buy a perpetual license. A second-hand license (which you may be able to procure at a massive dicount) is as good as new (I understand TickQuest, the maker of NeoTicker, don't mind people re-selling licenses they no longer need.) With a "paid" license (as opposed to trial) you get 350 days of history (including tick data) for a few dozen of instruments (mostly futures, equity indices and FX): http://newsletter.neoticker.com/2005/10/25/supported-symbols/