What is the best way to learn how to day trade?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by daytradelearner, Aug 23, 2011.

1. What is the best way to learn how to day trade? I am new to day trading and would like to learn.

2. Frits

Frits

A few advises from me:
    - Learn to accept that markets (and shares as well) move at random.*
    - The only way to make money in such an environment is to limit your losses and let your profits run.
    - Don't buy anything from a vendor that claims to be able to teach you how to trade.
    - Trading is 10% knowledge and that bit you will learn by experience.
    - Trading is 90% mental and you will learn that by practicing on a SIM account and maybe do some reading about it.
    - Read the attachment.

*Over a longer period of time, say >10 years stock markets tend to go up. Why? Because, companies tend to strive for an increase in profits and therefor increase in stockprice. But if you want to make money as an e.g. day trader or swing trader you have to accept that markets move at random. Don't think you can outsmart the markets... You can't.

Shaka:cool: ,

Frits

3. J Ski

J Ski

It's not like this hasn't been asked.
    I saw a reply on another thread,
    "take a $100 dollar bill and light it on fire..."

4. wrbtrader

wrbtrader

Study Your Charts --> Backtest --> Study your Charts --> Open Broker Account --> Trade Small Size --> If Profitable --> Trade Normal Size

If you got it right...you won't have to repeat the above steps.

Mark

5. A few years ago I was given this same advice. I used a fraction of the money saved to buy books which I read, and gained exposure to ideas from several people as a result.

Not setups or systems, I have never traded what I found in the books, but ideas.

It is probably the best single piece of advice I have been given.

6. samus

samus