What is IB's Hong Kong exposure?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by jonnysharp, Jun 3, 2020.

1. Hey guys,

I'm wondering what kind of exposure does IB have in Hong Kong? I know there's a IB office there and IB servers in HK, but I'm wondering are there any customer funds being held there?

I'm a New Zealand resident with a IB company account and I'm concerned if the Chinese Government could soon potentially interfere with American companies business there as backlash against increasing US sanctions and tensions. Is there a contingency plan for this?

Would it not now be a good move to re-position the IB Asia office & servers to a much more safer business friendly place like Singapore? This would make me much more comfortable as a customer going forward.

I don't see HK as a western business/trader friendly place going forward now that it's autonomy has been lost and is now under the control of the CCP, the risks now are significantly higher. This makes me want to not have anything to do with HK anymore as it's no longer the Hong Kong we once knew.

I would also like to add I've been trading with IB for 16 years and overall I'm very pleased with the tech, execution and pricing.

Hoping to hear some positive news back on this issue.

Thanks.

Nobert likes this.
  2. def

def Sponsor

As you are a New Zealand person, your account would be opened under IBLLC.

I can only express my own personal views here but IBHK is not a US company. We have been in Hong Kong for 25 years and are fully licensed and capitalized as a company incorporated in Hong Kong. While our parent company is indeed a US company I personally have little if any concern over the items you raise above. US companies have been operating in China for years and I don't see that changing. There is too much to lose on both sides.