What is Evidence?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by peilthetraveler, May 5, 2010.

1. A policeman went to investigate a murder at the shooting range. As the policeman looked around, he saw bullet shells everywhere. He packaged up over 5,000 shells as evidence. When the doctor came he told the policeman that the man died of a heart attack and not a gunshot. "What? How can you possibly know that?" said the policeman.

"I am a doctor. I read this medical book so i know what I am talking about."

"I'm not going to believe you and your silly medical book. I have over 5,000 pieces of EVIDENCE. All these bullet shells and the fact that he is dead at a shooting range point to the probability that he was shot. How much evidence do you have, Doctor?"

"Just my medical knowledge that I got from this book." he said.

"Thats what I thought, now excuse me while I go look for a criminal." said the policeman.

That policeman is still out there today, gathering more and more "evidence" and will never stop until he catches his man. If he is an honest policeman, eventually he will go back to try to learn more about what the doctor told him and learn the truth. If he grows tired of searching, he may just blame the closest person that the "evidence" points to.

2. Forgive me, I am not able to see the the hidden message in this theoretical example.

1. Clearly there would be a gunshot wound in the victim if he was shot. It would be easy for the doctor and the policeman to determine if he was shot or not...

2. A doctor would never say "I have no evidence, only medical knowledge." The medical knowledge allows the doctor to to determine cause of death, which the doctor or some other expert witness would have to explain to a jury or what have you.

3. LOL :D

4. what you wrote is evidence of the truth of this statement: