What If a Nuke Goes Off in America?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by version77, Dec 9, 2002.

1. One reason I have not jumped into the futures market is because
    of the leverage. I cannot quit thinking about what could happen
    to my account if I am leveraged up to the hilt and NY or DC gets
    a dirty bomb. Many futures traders will be toast overnight. How
    easy would it be to get out of your position if a bomb hits intraday?

Am I just paranoid or what? :eek:

2. probability is on your side, you might be short of flat.

But seriously, there's nothing you can do about risks similar to the this. Another one to think about is what would happen when you're long overnight and a massive Tokyo earthquake hits. One every 100 years and the time is right about now.

3. Ah, didn't think of that. From now, I am a short artist only.
    My luck, that is when Osama will be caught... I guess I
    could just flip it ASAP... :cool:

4. what has leverage got to do with it?

if you're long when a nuke goes off and you're late in closing your position you're gonna get hammered no matter how leveraged you are.

if you were planning on using the available leverage to the maximum, you're gonna get hammered anyway, nukes or no nukes...

yes, to answer your question, you are paranoid. too paranoid (if you were serious with the above comment) to even be trading in the most benign periods of international relations...

5. If you are long, close position at market and immediately reverse to go short, and make your loss back and some... there is certainly good money to be made off a nuke going off in America, assuming you are not one of the people who was just nuked (and are therefore incapable of trading) and also assuming the futures exchange and/or internet backbone wasn't taken out by the nuke...

6. The answer is very simple.