What happened? (ES trade)

Discussion in 'Trading' started by musclemoney, Jul 3, 2008.

1. I'm a complete rookie at day trading, and am a RIA, so that sounds odd, I'm sure. But, my discipline and money management is based on a system, and I do not deviate. For example, if one the "four shock absorbers on the car" isn't working correctly, I scale back equity positions, or can be all cash by Investment Policy Statement.
    I'm a performance-based RIA, and only work with retirement assets. i.e., those who have a time horizon of 3-5 years or longer, as well as the Clients who are seeking growth, as well as monthly income. YTD, I am up 90bps. Down from being up over 6% two months ago. Of course, the markets are down approx 15% YTD, so current Clients are happy with my "performance." However, it's the prospective Clients I have been talking to who have almost driven me nuts.:( :D

They're "running for the hills" (all cash, and have been that way since the start of 08.) I'm hearing from REFERRALS (not cold calls. That was when I was new, and was even un-popular back then. Hell, I don't like geting up at dinner for a call of some kind of political survey, etc., so I don't market myself that way):
    * "Stocks!!!!:eek: NO Fu**ing way. (click) Tell my friend _____ that he's nuts to be in stocks."
    * "Investment Advisor?? You been watching the news? This market is going to go straight down."