what happend to my account after PDT rules on stock options.

Discussion in 'Options' started by qdz, Nov 12, 2002.

1. qdz

qdz

(This is a reply to a message on IB forum, as their forum has ridiculous restriction that you cannot post 1.2K messages. I do not want to split my message. I also feel people here may be willing to listen to my story.
    http://www.interactivebrokers.com/discus/messages/4/4793.html?1037115567
    Thank you.)

Re: Mission Impossible,

You are so arbitrary. You just want to apply what you think to others. First of all, you and I have different standard for a living. Do not give me you assumption as it does not suitable for me. What kind of living I want to make is my choice. Whether I can make MY living by trading less than 25K is my challenge.

As for my account, let me give you my story on what had happened. Since I joined IB, I traded profitably for about 5% and 10% per month. And then this PDT rules on stock options suddenly came in in the option expiration week of October. My day trade counter was zero and I had positions with only time value. I SHOULD close them as I already feel what the change meant to me. However, I was not able to buy it back even on the next day. Because IB not only started to apply the rules but also started it at a point with old counter before any notification (even now) and to forbid opening positions on that week. Of course, ultimately it was my fault to take chance by not closing the positions. But that is because I was taken advantage by non-market factors. To make the story short, I lost all of my positions in less than a week. In court of morality, IB should take the full responsibility.