What got you in?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rateesquad, Dec 20, 2006.

1. Just curious, what got you into trading?
    I am more concerned about what you majored/minored in college.
    The job you obtained before trading/still have.
    Was it the $$$?

For instance, I major in Investments.....LOL thats obvious.
    Minors....1)Economics and 2) Statistics

My job title........student/ part-time trader

Yes, it was b/c of the money.

What do you say? What made you the enthusiastic forever profit seeking maniac?

2. fseitun

fseitun

Before I got into trading full time, I had always been fascinated by it since I was little.

I remember watching the movie Wall Street when I was like 10 and getting all excited despite I couldnt really understand what was happening...lol

I majored in business administration in 1999 and in 2002 I got my MBA in Financial Services. Nothing really related to trading.

I then took a couple of corporate jobs within the medical division of two major US companies. It was during these experiences that I figured out I had no passion for the corporate world, that I didnt want to become nobody's boss nor did I want to step up the corporate ladder. I felt utterly unmotivated to continue my corporate career and I just quit my job overnight and did some soul searching for a few days.

From then onward the decision was easy simply because trading is the only thing I am passionate about.

And no, the money doesnt matter. I'd still be a trader for a very regular salary. Being passionate about your job improves your quality of life and makes you a happier person.

Trading is like a game for me. It's about being a winner and being challenged everyday. Life cant get boring if you are a trader.

3. It wasnt the $$$$, it was what looked like easy $$$$$.

I remember back in 1999. I saw AMD trading at $18 and in the same day it went to $19 dollars, and i thought with just $10K margin i could make $1000 today and every other day.