What Good Are Economists Anyway??

Discussion in 'Economics' started by jueco2005, May 6, 2009.

1. http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/09_17/b4128026997269.htm

In this article the author correctly questions the profession of economics and the usefulness of "regular" economists.

http://mises.org/story/3436

In this other article, Austrians (although I don't like them much they are right about this matter) support the article from businessweek and explain a little on their own perspective.

I would like to share with you my own experience. Back in 2006 I was an Economics student, working on my BS in Economics from the School of Business. Housing prices in Miami were really inflated and I took my though to class that a major foreclosure stampede was coming for Miami. (I really did not know it was a National problem). My instructor (now chief economist for the Miami Dade County) did not see it coming and obviously did not take me seriously at all.

ONE THING I DO LOVE FROM AUSTRIANS. "HUMAN LOGIC"

2. A) Somebody who can be a perpetual optimist.
    B) Somebody who can explain yesterday's news.
    C) Somebody who tends to agree with and form a bogus "consensus" with other economists.
    D) Somebody who tends to extrapolate yesterday's news into the future.
    E) Somebody who is always caught off guard by events that are "different" from the historical average.
    F) Somebody who wishes they were an equity analyst earning "equity analyst money".
    G) Somebody who is good with doling out flattery to others.
    H) Somebody..........:cool:

3. Galbraith is always a good read:
    Causes of the Crisis