What do you think of this deal.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by eurusdzn, Jun 6, 2016.

1. eurusdzn

eurusdzn

I hear many guys speak of real estate investment properties here and I have no experience with that. A nephew of mine is buying a 4 rental unit house for 399k.
    He will live in the studio unit saving approx. 18k on his own rental costs at this time.
    The other 3 units generate 44k per year so I figure that to be 62k extra income.
    His mortgage with PMI will be about 40k per year escrowimg taxes/insurance.
    He is NOT handy and will have to pay or learn all maintenance issues on a hundred year
    old house. Roof at 20k needs to ne done initially. Home ispection is to be done by a friend/professiomal in the building business, so, thats good.
    My question is .....without having any additional info....

1) does this appear a wise investment?
    2) how do you arribe at such a decision?
    3) are there glaring issues like "liability" or othe unknowns that go along with
    Owning rental units?

I could value this as a bond/note with issues of carry costs vs. yield with the uncertainty
    of capital depreciation or appreciation but aside from that I know nothing beyond owning a single family unit. This property is in the Northeast US not Vancouver so it is a relatively healthy region and a "fair" neighborhood with demamd for rental units.

I am trying to be of value to him without getting into fed policy/bubbles/end of days.
    He has a good job and a cushion to absorb a little adversity.

Thanks

2. not handy? not a deal.

3. eurusdzn

eurusdzn

Thats wise and I think the same thing. Hiring someome to repair the small things could be
    Death by a thousand cuts. Most learn that on single family homes first befor taking on rental units.

4. Your nephew's got the right idea but is being overly ambitious. Best way to start if you're young is buy a *cheap* townhouse and fix it up yourself (if needed).