What do remote traders want?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by Shorter000, Nov 12, 2008.

1. I am in the process of building a website for a proprietary trading company that is going to gear their site to accommodate the remote active trader. If any of you are remote traders, what features do you like to see on a prop site...blogs, chat rooms, message forums, software? What other things would you expect from a proprietary company to have on their site that would exceed your expectations that other company's don't have?

Any feedback would be very much appreciated as I will take them all into consideration, I am a trader as well and building a site for the company I am with.

Thanks

2. What about illegal inside information? I don't think anyone is currently providing that on their website. Oh wait, GS already does that.

I hope you are not building this from scratch -- there are plenty of free tools available to host blogs, forums, etc. Just throw a bunch of them together or use something like dotnetnuke and add features as needed.

3. bespoke

bespoke

Whoever is top trader for the company that day gets a free sexy asian masseuse sent to his door. Full service included.

4. Have your market Marker platform and prices screens/charts all running on the same datafeed so there's no mismatch or lag. Nothing sucks more than having your charting/data package saying one thing (usually behind), and your market maker saying another. You have to execute through your MM, and I've used just this at times when the data on the charting package lagged, but it's a lot tougher if you're not used to it.

Your MM shuold have routing capabilities for everywhere, all order types including baskets, etc. Should have LII for those that want it, and on and on...