What decoration is needed in daily/hourly candlestick or barchart for intraday

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by harrytrader, Mar 10, 2004.

1. As an intraday trader I am interested to know if market made its low first or it high first. Daily/hourly candlestick or chartbar doesn't indicate this : for example when you have a white candlestick, it doesn't imply obligatorily that the low has been made firstly and the high secondly since the color of the candlestick corresponds to the differential between close and open, information which is redundant with the bases of the candlestick since they already indicate open and close.

So I intend to add these decorations : an up arrow to indicate that market made a low first, a down arrow to indicate that market made a high first.

2. Hi Harrytrader,

There are some candlestick software that do that (I can't remember their names), there are some excel programs that do that and/or you could simply look at the intraday chart to determine what occur when.

Simply, I think any trader that trades via the daily chart and needs to know what occur first between the low and high...

that's a trader that needs to spend a few seconds looking at the intraday charts.

There's even software that will tell you the different levels of volume in a particular candlestick interval...such may be important to price action only traders that are dependent upon price and volume analysis for their trades.

I think that particular software will tell you how much volume occurred at the Upper candlestick shadow, the candlestick body and the Lower candlestick shadow.

My point...when it comes to candlestick software...there's some weird stuff out there that does some odd things...that's useful to some candlestick traders.