What could go wrong with Treasury scalping? Or other types of scalping?

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by mgzheng, Sep 26, 2005.

1. mgzheng

mgzheng

I have made good money the past 2 weeks in scalping US treasury. It reacted significantly to every economic number that came out that had to do with inflation and interest rates. I'm new to this, so to those who has tried it before, provided that I trade small (100 to 200 contracts which allows me to go in and out with just a click of a button using a market order without moving prices) and provided that I go in only when I see a significant reaction, can I keep doing this in future rate cut and rate hike cycles?

The reason I ask is that I read a posting from someone in this forum who has claimed to have 3 years of experience doing this and yet he said he ended up day trading stocks and he was asking people here for $10,000 of investment. So is there something that could really go wrong with this type of scapling that I am not aware of? What could that guy have done wrong?

Do the German 10 year bond and the major currencies react this predicatably to economic numbers? Do the emini light crude oil react predictably to inventory numbers on Wednesdays? Are there any scalping opportunities in those products?

Thanks very much ahead of time.

2. gosh ... if thats trading small ... ?

{ -I'm new to this, so to those who has tried it before, provided that I trade small (100 to 200 contracts - }

also ... are you new to scalping or new to trading

ZB + ZN + ZF ?

don't tell me you just started trading futures
    and have no problem swinging the bat in 200 contract increments.
    thats $6250 a tick in ZB

:eek:

3. What do you consider "trading large"?

4. mgzheng

mgzheng