What constitutes edge / why is my system working?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by radiusvector, Dec 28, 2017.

1. Some background: I am no quant PhD, and certainly no hedge fund guy. I am just an engineer with decent programming skill.

I have spent a small part of the last 2 years developing and building a pretty simple intra-day trend-following system (fully automated) focussed on currencies. No fancy indicators, just signals based of when price exceeds a simple moving average. After a bunch of backtesting and paper trading, I'm seeing that it actually makes good return and I just started live trading with it.

BT results: Sharpe > 1.7, with tight stop losses.

While I was happy, I was also quite suspicious to see this working as well. Can someone help me intuit how such systems work?
    • What are the market forces making this system work?
    • Is this effectively taking money from less sophisticated traders? Or, am I riding the wave with smart money who just don't mind taking smaller losses which are actually quite meaningful for retail traders?
    • Why haven't hedge funds/smarter people arbitraged or sucked the alpha out of my system?
    • I've read Ernest Chan's books and it seems that this might be related to 'capacity' but I am still not sure why it is actually working.
    Thanks in advance.

2. qxr1011

qxr1011

reminds, me a question someone posted on one Russian forum: How to proof to myself that my wife is not a whore? :)

3. cafeole

cafeole

Why not go on Chan's blog and ask them?

777 likes this.
  4. So, what's the bottom line ...throw some return percentages out there -- alot of people talk a big game, but they only generate matching market returns at best in a good year... when it's all said and done from their big scientific smart-sounding presentation.

My fart has more depth and complexity and rewards than some people.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
    PennySnatch likes this.